top of page

My Journey to Practising Medicine in the UK



The United Kingdom (UK) is an exceptional place to be a doctor, but if you are not from the UK and wish to pursue a career in medicine, you need to follow a few not-so-simple steps. The procedure may be challenging and time-consuming, as well as costly. But I think that with the right guidance and sincere hard effort, anyone can attain it, based on my experience.



I’m Dr. Khan from Pakistan, and in May 2022, I traveled to the UK for the first time to take the PLAB-2 test. For those unaware, the PLAB exam—the “Professional and Linguistic Assessments Board”—is a two-part licensing test for IMGs who want to practice medicine in the UK. I decided to move to the UK after finishing my MBBS from King Edward Medical University in Pakistan in March 2020. Like many of my contemporaries, I made that choice primarily for better opportunities, professional advancement, and financial incentives (aka money!). However, the opportunity to work in the NHS, one of the world’s most outstanding social healthcare systems, was still the most significant factor. I recall precisely when I made this choice—during my first shift as a physician. I’m not sure what impacted my decision then, but I’m pleased it was the correct one.


I recall conversing with my coworkers while working a 24-hour shift in the medical ward. We were taking a break and talking about how to pursue our training in the UK. It was at that moment that I discovered what PLAB is. They discussed the PLAB exam, the need to pass an English language test, and where I might find tools to help me prepare for it. They were my motivation on this expedition and coincidentally, we were together when we first came to the UK for PLAB-2 later). First, I booked a date for the Occupational English Test (OET) English test, similar to IELTS but designed for physicians and other healthcare workers. The argument for booking OET instead of IELTS is that it is thought to be simpler and has a greater passing rate. I passed it in November 2020 and became eligible to attempt the first part of the PLAB exam. I didn’t realize how difficult it could be to book a PLAB-1 seat in Pakistan as seats were limited and candidates were far more. Positions used to get filled very quickly and I was lucky enough to secure a seat before they were all booked and then I had to wait for another year.


But, after all, I could schedule a seat in Pakistan, while some of my friends got seats in Dubai, Sri Lanka and other nearby countries. The exam was a few months away, so in the meanwhile, I started working at a new job since I knew that these work experiences would benefit me in the future when I applied for positions in the UK. PLAB-1 preparation took me three months. There was this well-known question bank, PLABABLE, that everyone used, so I stuck with it and eventually passed the exam. I booked a PLAB-2 seat on the same day as my PLAB-1 result. Unlike the first part, PLAB-2 is not a theory-based MCQ test; each applicant is required to appear in front of simulators (acting as patients) and be scored on their interpersonal, information gathering, communication, and, of course, problem management skills.


The next step was to apply for a visiting visa after reserving a PLAB-2 seat. Again, it was an inconvenient undertaking since it would be my first overseas trip, and I had no idea how it worked. So, I gathered the necessary information and documents, including my payslips with my current and previous jobs, my employment and educational records, and, most importantly, my PLAB-2 booking confirmation, as I found that these documents were essential for a PLAB-2 visit visa. But another critical aspect of a visa visit was financing; I was still a junior doctor and didn’t have much savings, so my father helped me with it. He became my financial sponsor for the journey and my application was ultimately successful.


Finally, I came to the UK in mid-May (2022) and joined a coaching academy in Liverpool to prepare for the PLAB-2 exam. I was lucky that I was not alone in this PLAB journey and that I had a close friend of mine with me. Having someone go through the same struggles would help you cope with them together. In the academy, we met people from various countries such as India, Bangladesh, Egypt, Nigeria, Myanmar, Philippines, and others and made some good friends there. I took the course for a month and in June, I sat for the exam in Manchester.


After the exam, waiting for the results was not that easy, but I had some help as soon after the exam, I started my clinical attachment at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in King’s Lynn, which was the first time I had the opportunity to observe and learn about the healthcare system in the UK. It was imperative to gain some UK hospital experience as I know it will help me improve my profile while applying for jobs later. Now, briefly on how I got a clinical attachment and how I spend my time making the most of it. I was still in Pakistan when I started looking for clinical attachment opportunities. I searched the Internet to find the emails of consultants and admin people and started mailing them. Many hospitals I contacted apologized for not offering any position due to COVID-19. Some stated they were overbooked and had long waiting lists, while some were asking for fees which was too much for me, and many didn’t receive any reply. But eventually, I would say that I was lucky enough to get a positive reply from King’s Lynn’s hospital, who offered me an attachment in the specialty of my choice soon after the exam date. I knew I had got a great opportunity. I utilized my time in the hospital to learn how things worked and their system and interact with the patients there, and as I had recently given the PLAB-2 exam, I could apply the knowledge and skills gained from it while dealing with the patients in the ward. Overall, it was a great experience, and I finished my attachment on a positive note.


A month after PLAB-2, I got the result and fortunately passed it. A long journey that lasted almost two years with 3 different exams and countless hours of studying and practicing was finally ended. Then, it was time to apply for registration with the General Medical Council for a license to practice in the UK and to begin applying for jobs. While I was still in the UK, I got another opportunity to do a second clinical placement in a small district-level hospital in Grantham, which I happily accepted. I realized that all these efforts would eventually help me better adapt to the new environment and improve my chances of landing a job. The following attachment was in the accident and emergency department, and I also applied there for a job. I was lucky to get an interview and was later selected there.


So dear readers, that’s how my journey to become a doctor in the UK, which started in 2020, finally ended. So many people guided me through It; it took immense hard work, patience, and some luck, but eventually, it ended for me the best way.


29 views0 comments
bottom of page