top of page

How to Make the Most of Medical Student Electives


Hello! I am Mashiyat, a fifth-year medical student in Manchester, and I am the Head of Marketing for AIM UK. I am an international student, born in Saudi Arabia and raised in Bangladesh, so I have moved around quite a bit in my lifetime. This is why I understand how daunting it can be, trying to get accustomed to a new culture, and new language and make friends who are from completely different backgrounds to yourself. So, I wanted to be part of AIM UK and help potential international students find a new home in the UK.

What did you do during your elective? How did you go about arranging it?

I have done 3 years of BSc Pharmacology at King’s College London, before starting medicine in Manchester. During my years at King’s and my third-year placement in cardiology, I developed a keen interest in cardiology, both adult and paediatric. So, I decided to split my elective between adult and paediatric cardiology. This was the easiest decision to take for what will be a long-winded process. After deciding on the speciality, I had to decide on the location as I knew I wanted an experience outside the UK, because when else would I get a chance to explore a different healthcare system if not now? But I really was not sure about where to go.


I decided on the continent first! I wanted to go to Asia, because it is home and the healthcare system is quite different to the UK. I had contacted doctors in Singapore, South Korea and Japan, but because of COVID, no one was able to give me a definite answer as to whether they are taking international students. After much thinking, I decided to go to Bangladesh (my home country) itself because I have only seen the healthcare system as a patient and wanted to see what it feels like to be on the other side. So I emailed a few doctors I know through family (someone always knows someone in Bangladesh) and arranged a 2 week elective in paediatric cardiology and 2 weeks in adult cardiology.

How was your elective experience?

To say it has changed my outlook on the healthcare system in Bangladesh (and other developing countries) would be an understatement. Working in a severely under-resourced, under-funded, underpaid environment and still keeping up the motivation to come and serve patients every day is a different game altogether. I have seen doctors pay for patients’ medications from their own pockets, and I have seen patients lying on the ward floor connected to a saline drip because there are no beds in the hospital. It has made me realise the challenges different countries face. It also made me reflect on where I may want to practice in the future.


Because I went home for elective, I was also able to spend my free time with my friends and family and start my summer holidays a bit early, which is a bonus I will take any day!


What is your advice for medical students trying to plan their electives?

I would say start early, especially if you are considering going abroad. And I would very strongly recommend going abroad if you are able to, as it will open your eyes and brain to exposures you will never imagine getting in the UK. You will be able to see medicine from a different lens. You will also get to travel to and explore a whole new country for a month or more as part of your degree. That is an opportunity you will probably not get as easily when you start working.


I think the way to go about it is first to decide whether you want to do it at home or abroad, then decide on a speciality that you are interested in. It looks really good on your CV when you are applying for speciality training if you have done your elective in that speciality, it shows your commitment to the subject.


Once you have made these decisions, start googling and emailing anyone and everyone you can find. Chances are at least 1 out of 20 people will reply.


The next thing once you have secured a place is to think about finance and how costly the elective will be: flights, accommodation, elective fees etc. Some hospitals/ cities will be cheaper than others so it is good to consider that when you are applying.


I would say go with a group of friends if you can, as it will make the whole experience a lot more fun! I think a chance to do an elective abroad is one of the best things about medical school, and you should definitely make the most of it.

How would you advise students to make the most of their elective?

If you are going abroad, choose a country you like and are interested in exploring. That will make you excited about the elective even before it starts. If you start the experience on a good, positive note, it will most likely set the tone for the rest of the weeks.


Choose a speciality you are interested in. In addition to boosting your CV, it will genuinely give you a broader understanding of the speciality, and how it is practised in a different healthcare setting. And because there is no coursework/ exams, you can really spend a lot of time in placement and get a real feel of working as a doctor in the speciality and whether it is something you would want to do long-term.


Lastly, make a holiday out of it! You have worked hard in university the whole year, you deserve a break! Most elective placements will be less than full-time, 3-4 days a week, so you can spend the rest of the time travelling, and exploring new cultures and food. And because this is part of your degree, you can have fun guilt-free, so go crazy! It will genuinely be one of the best memories you will have from med school.


Good luck with everything.


73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page